Rejection Therapy

For those of you that don’t know us already,  you will soon see that we are always finding new and interesting adventures. Sometimes that means learning something new (book, blog, video, interesting article), traveling to new places, or meeting interesting people.

This week is no different… we learned about “Rejection Therapy.” Sounds crazy right? I’ve been contemplating the details around starting my business, and part of that is figuring out how to build my clientele. I’m not sure about you, but being told NO is not something I’ve mastered just yet. Being told “No” makes me feel uncomfortable. It can literally make it hard for me the breathe. It can sometimes make me question myself and more specifically my abilities.  Working up the courage to ask a question (simple or not) takes practice.

Reading through some BioHacks on the Bulletproof web site; I came across the Rejection Therapy video (see links below). As I watched this video I thought, what a great way to get more comfortable asking uncomfortable questions. Tell me this don’t totally make sense? If we don’t practice something, how can we possibly get better at it? Right! 

So of course, the first thing I do is share this new idea with Will. Who is excited to share with me how he had already started. How ironic? He begins to tell me about his mad negotiation skills. Will earlier that day he was negotiating with the Toyota service department to get 50% off a new tires. Now he didn’t get a 50% discount but he did get a 10% discount which he wouldn’t have gotten if he didn’t ask. So of course he challenges me to do all kinds of silly tasks the rest of the night. Including but not limited to asking the hostess at Carrabba’s if I could have their umbrella stand; which just happens to be exactly like the one I’ve been looking for. Needless to say I didn’t do it. Mainly because I didn’t want to look like an idiot, not so much that I didn’t want to be told no. Needless to say, no matter what the reason was it boiled down to fear! As the night went on I thought more and more about why I didn’t want to ask for that silly umbrella stand. Maybe I started out to big?

What better way to learn then to practice. So I’ve given myself a challenge. For the next 30 days I’m going to attempt some “Rejection Therapy”. How many of you will join me on this challenge?  I’ll be sure to post my progress over the coming weeks. 

Bulletproof Website – https://blog.bulletproof.com/beginners-guide-to-biohacking-101/

Rejection Therapy video:  http://vimeo.com/79453884

Leave a Reply

